Workshop on Privacy in the Electronic Society

Los Angeles, USA (and online), November 7, 2022


The need for privacy-aware policies, regulations, and techniques has been widely recognized. This workshop discusses the problems of privacy in the global interconnected societies and possible solutions. The 2022 Workshop, held in conjunction with the ACM CCS conference, is the twenty-first in a yearly forum for papers on all the different aspects of privacy in today's electronic society.

The workshop seeks submissions from academia, industry, and government presenting novel research on all theoretical and practical aspects of electronic privacy, as well as experimental studies of fielded systems. We encourage submissions from other communities such as law and business that present these communities' perspectives on technological issues. Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:


Submitted papers must not substantially overlap papers that have been published or that are simultaneously submitted to a journal or a conference with proceedings. Submissions should be no more than 12 pages in the ACM double-column format, excluding the bibliography and well-marked appendix. Committee members are not required to read the appendices, and so the paper should be intelligible without them. Submissions should not be anonymized. The workshop will also consider short submissions of up to 4 pages for results that are preliminary or that simply require few pages to describe. Authors of regular submitted papers will indicate at the time of submission whether they would like their paper to also be considered for publication as a short paper (4 proceedings pages).

Submissions are to be made to the submission web site at EasyChair. Only PDF files will be accepted. Submissions not meeting these guidelines risk rejection without consideration of their merits. Papers must be received by the deadline of July 16 August 1, 2022 (11:59 PM American Samoa time) to be considered. Notification of acceptance or rejection will be sent to authors by August 31 September 6, 2022.

Authors of accepted papers must guarantee that their paper will be presented at the workshop (either in person or remotely).


Paper submission due:
July 16, 2022 August 1, 2022 (11:59 PM American Samoa time) (Firm)
Notification to authors:
August 31, 2022 September 6, 2022
Camera ready due:
September 10, 2022 September 14, 2022

Program Co-Chairs

Yuan Hong
University of Connecticut, USA
Lingyu Wang
Concordia University, Canada

Publicity Chair

Azadeh Tabiban
Concordia University, Canada

Program Committee

Ghada Almashaqbeh
University of Connecticut
Hafiz Asif
Rutgers University
Erman Ayday
Case Western Reserve University
Yang Cao
Kyoto University
Bo Chen
Michigan Technological University
Dong Chen
Colorado School of Mines
Jeremy Clark
Concordia University
Chris Clifton
Purdue University
Mauro Conti
Padova University
Frederic Cuppens
Polytechnique Montreal
Sabrina De Capitani di Vimercati
Universita' degli Studi di Milano, Italy
Ferdinando Fioretto
Syracuse University
Sara Foresti
Universita' degli Studi di Milano, Italy
Sebastien Gambs
Universite du Quebec a Montreal
Joaquin Garcia-Alfaro
Institut Polytechnique de Paris
Guangquan Xu
Tianjin University
Yidan Hu
Rochester Institute of Technology
Hongxin Hu
University at Buffalo, SUNY
Aaron Johnson
U.S. Naval Research Laboratory
Taeho Jung
University of Notre Dame
Stefan Katzenbeisser
University of Passau
Doowon Kim
University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Peeter Laud
Cybernetica AS
Adam J. Lee
University of Pittsburgh
Zhou Li
University of California, Irvine
Bingyu Liu
Harvard University
Giovanni Livraga
University of Milan
Rongxing Lu
University of New Brunswick
Haibing Lu
Santa Clara University
Bo Luo
The University of Kansas
Suryadipta Majumdar
Concordia University
Brad Malin
Vanderbilt University
Amirreza Masoumzadeh
University at Albany, SUNY
Sjouke Mauw
University of Luxembourg
Meisam Mohammady
Stefano Paraboschi
Universita di Bergamo
Zhan Qin
Zhejiang University
Chenxi Qiu
University of North Texas
Indrakshi Ray
Colorado State University
Pierangela Samarati
Universita' degli Studi di Milano, Italy
Scott Stoller
Stony Brook University
Shamik Sural
Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur
Paul Syverson
U.S. Naval Research Laboratory
Daniel Takabi
Georgia State University
Vicenc Torra
University of Skovde
Binghui Wang
Illinois Institute of Technology
Shangyu Xie
Illinois Institute of Technology
Ting Yu
Qatar Computing Research Institute
Meng Yu
Roosevelt University
Jiawei Yuan
University of Massachusetts Dartmouth
Lei Zhang
East China Normal University

Steering Committee

Sabrina De Capitani di Vimercati
Universita degli Studi di Milano, Italy
Sushil Jajodia
George Mason University, USA
Pierangela Samarati (Chair)
Universita degli Studi di Milano, Italy
Paul Syverson
U.S. Naval Research Laboratory, USA